We'd love to tell your story: 843-972-8072

Holy City Sinner: Applications open for the International African Museum’s Faith Based Advisory Council

The International African American Museum (IAAM), which officially opened June of 2023 to the public, is accepting applications for its Faith Based Education and Engagement Advisory Council.

Comprised of committed, knowledgeable, spiritually and geographically diverse faith-based partners, IAAM’s Faith Based Education and Engagement Advisory Council focuses on engaging faith-based communities, denominational and interfaith leaders and religious organizations, including faith-based foundations, seminaries, Spiritual Life and Religious Studies departments in HBCUs and other colleges and universities throughout the Tri-County area (Charleston, Dorchester, Berkeley) and Low Country Corridor (South Carolina, North Carolina, Georgia, Florida) in order to increase understanding of, involvement in, and commitment to the mission and work of the International African American Museum with regional communities of faith.

The deadline to submit an application is Wednesday, January 31, 2024. Interested individuals can access the application at the following link: https://iaamuseum.org/faith-based-programs/.   

Rev. DeMett Jenkins, director of faith-based education and engagement at IAAM, said, “Our inaugural Faith Based Advisory Council was comprised of Christian (Protestant and Catholic), Jewish, Muslim, and Buddhist leaders from the Tri-County area. We look forward to welcoming these and other faith traditions to join our next Council in 2024, as we continue to bridge history, education, and faith in support of the mission of the International African American Museum.”

Current members of the 2021-2023 inaugural Faith Based Education and Engagement Advisory Council include Rev. Dr. Marion Platt, Rev. Dr. William Swinton, Rev. Marhsall Blalock, Leslie Skardon, Rev. Greg Snyder, Naomi Gorstein, Barbara Clark, Evangelist Madlyn Gabe, Rev. Cleo Pringle, Heather Lynn Mann, Rev. Eleanor Cooper Brown, Dr. David Goltra, Iman Herb Frazier, Rev. Timothy Grant, Stephanie LeVan, Pamela Duncan, Rev. Pat Jones, and Rev. Alverta Bowens. Their council tenure will end this month, and a closing ceremony to recognize their commitment and work will be held in January of 2024.

Contact us

Recent News

When can we start to get your message out?

843-972-8072 / eboineau@eboineauandco.com

1632 Ware Bottom Lane
Mount Pleasant, S.C 29464

Never miss an update

Join our mailing list today!